“Love As a Way of Life,” by Dr. Gary Chapman

How fortunate that the renowned Dr. Gary Chapman committed to serve as the keynote speaker for the 2017 Southside Christian School graduation ceremony on May 26, 2017.   (Dr. Chapman is well known for his Christian books, articles, and messages on “the 5 love languages.”  He would like to be known as SCS 2017 Graduate Davy Grace McGuirt’s grandfather!)  If you missed the wonderful commencement exercises, including Dr. Chapman’s excellent message, you might want to consider the outline he used for his speech:

“Love As a Way of Life”

By Dr. Gary Chapman

Southside  Christian School

Simpsonville, South Carolina

Friday, May 26, 2017

Congratulations to students

Appreciation to parents

“A man’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.”

Life’s greatest meaning is not found in things.

Where does life find its meaning?  In relationships – first with God and then family and others. 

I believe there are two essentials to long-term healthy relationships:

First, is to choose to be a loving person.  John 13:35  “This is how they will know…”

Several years ago, my daughter and I were flying back from a medical convention. . . .

. . .which sent me on a journey to see if in our culture we still know what it means to be loving.

Love as a Way of Life: Seven traits of Love

  1.             Kindness – Discovering the joy of helping others
  2.             Patience – Accepting the imperfections of others
  3.             Forgiveness – Finding freedom from the grip of anger
  4.             Courtesy – Treating others as friends
  5.             Humility – Stepping down so someone else can step up
  6.             Generosity – Giving yourself to others
  7.             Honesty – Speaking the truth in love

It is loving people who discover the greatest satisfaction in life.

Albert Schwitzer, French Equatorial Africa – Nobel Peace Prize:  “ One thing I know; the only ones among you who will be really happy are those who will have sought and found how to serve.”

As I passed by the Cabel Auditorium at the University of Virginia, I read the following: “You are here to enrich the world and you impoverish yourself if you forget the errand.”

Second, Learn how to apologize and forgive. . . .

The reason this is an essential is that none of us are perfect.

Say,

I’m sorry, I regret that I did that.

            I was wrong.  No excuse for that.

            What can I do to make this right?

            Can you give me some ideas on how I can keep from doing that again?

            I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me. 

Parents, we need to apologize when we realize we have failed our children.

Apology alone will not heal a relationship.  There must be a response – forgiveness.

“to pardon”    “to take away”

As Christians we have outside help in developing these two essentials.

Romans 5:5

Love poured

“. . . .hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment